Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s: They’ve Arrived!

I love precious few things in this world. My family. My friends. Well-behaved children. French Fries. Nachos.

And Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s.

I first had these cookies a few years ago, and it was love at first bite. Trader Joe’s manufactures a basic Hydrox cookie (Oreos, if you want a more common name) but puts ground-up candy canes in the frosting, thus lending the cookie a slight peppermint flavor, additional texture, and making them more addictive than meth.

Trader Joe’s is one of the few companies left in the country that keeps their holiday products available between Thanksgiving and Christmas. So while you’ve been able to get green and red foil-wrapped Reeses Peanut Butter cups since Labor Day, Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s are only available in mid-November through very early January. If you don’t act fast, you don’t get enough boxes to carry you through the summer months. Yeah, I eat stale Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s in June. You want to make something of it?

So I completely lost my mind when I read this Facebook update from Trader Joe’s Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s Facebook fan page. (Yes, it exists. And yes, I’m a fan. Again, you want to make something of it?!)

Looks like Trader Joe’s Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s are starting to hit the shelves!!!

This rumor was confirmed by a friend on Twitter later in the day, so on my way to a meeting I went to the Back Bay Trader Joe’s. If you’re familiar with Boston, you know this is like trying to buy groceries in a one-bedroom apartment with 100 people in it. This is how desperate I was for these cookies. I barreled through the line of harried middle-aged women buying their Thanksgiving turkeys. I blew by the free food sample kiosk. I scanned the dessert and snack aisles, seeing no cookies. Were they sold out already? Was the truck about to pull up with a delivery? Could I miss the meeting for a very important charity event we’re hosting at one of the restaurants to wait around for a few boxes of cookies?

Before I could have a nervous breakdown in the middle of a subterranean Trader Joe’s, I walked over to the customer service desk and asked if they had any of my beloved Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s.

“We sure do,” the spiky-haired woman replied. “But don’t tell anybody.”

I swore I could hear angels singing as she pointed out their section on the shelf, and pulled a few boxes forward so they’d be easier to reach. “How many boxes do you want?”

“Two.” I immediately regretted my answer. I actually wanted 10.

She handed me one box, and I stood near her as she continued to grab for additional boxes on the top shelf. An older woman with a small cart rolled her eyes and nearly rammed me with the carriage.

Excuse me,” she said as loudly as possible. “I am trying to get through, could you please move? Honestly.”

The very kind clerk handed me another box as I slid out of the woman’s way. “Give it a second, for Christ’s sake,” I said. This Trader Joe’s made us all monsters. I didn’t care. I had my cookies.

The checkout line stretched back to where the Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s were shelved, so once the clerk left, I hopped out of line briefly to grab another box. When the cashier called me, I checked over my back to make sure nobody was coming up to bludgeon me on the head and grab the cookies away from me.

“Oh, you got some!” The cashier said.

“Yeah. I heard they were out today.”

“No, we still have some.”

“I know. I mean, they’d been released today. I wanted to get some before they’re gone.”

“Oh yeah,” the cashier said as I handed her some cash. “They’re very popular.”

And now, I can finish the few very stale Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s I had left from 2011 and get into the 2012 stash. I’d share some with you, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to get them again before 2013.

1 Comment

Filed under Boston, Food, Life

One response to “Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s: They’ve Arrived!

  1. The candy cane Joe-Joe’s are delicious, but more importantly is the holiday Joe-Joe’s variety package available yet?… They are extra YUMMY!!

Leave a Reply

