2015 New Year’s Philosophy: Consume Less. Create More.

Every year, I think about New Year’s resolutions. They’re typically the banal kind that advertisers discuss in their focus groups. Lose weight. Pay off debt. Travel more. I read a million blog posts and magazine articles about the tools and tips I need to meet my goals.

When it comes to resolutions, I accomplished quite a few in 2014. I fulfilled my lifelong goal of sticking my toes in the Pacific Ocean on a family vacation to California. I paid off $10,000 in credit card debt after two years of hard work. While I didn’t lose weight, I stuck with a new fitness routine that’s made me stronger.

For 2015, I’m thinking of going beyond the New Year’s resolution. It’s time for a New Year’s Philosophy. Here it is:

Consume less. Create more.

No, I’m not running off to an ashram or a commune in Vermont. Hear me out.

The reason I haven’t lost weight is because I’ve consumed too much food that isn’t good for my body. If I take the time to create more meals at home, thinking about the stuff I’m feeding myself, odds are I’ll start losing weight. (And, if I don’t, I’m going to the doctor to have my hormones checked.)

Consuming less means fewer take-out meals when I’m just too lazy to reheat something I planned to eat. During a time when my fiance and I are both stressed out, frazzled messes with no free time? We’re getting a healthyish meal out so we can connect with each other instead of feeling guilty about a pile of dishes in the sink.

And it’s not just about food. I haven’t been writing as much because I’ve been consumed by distractions. House Hunters marathons just because I’m too lazy or too frustrated by my creative output to pick up the computer and keep plowing through. I simply don’t have time to write! No, I simply don’t make time to create. That has to change.

It might mean saying no to more social occasions because now that I’m out of credit card debt, it’s time to rebuild my savings. (And pay for a wedding.) That’s fine. I’ll have the time to create a fun environment in my own apartment for friends to enjoy.

zenSo. Who’s with me!?

 

1 Comment

Filed under Austerity January, Life, Writing

One response to “2015 New Year’s Philosophy: Consume Less. Create More.

  1. Word. But insert Netflix binge watching for House Hunters. Though I’m sure there has been a value add to binge watching Grey’s Anatomy (again) and Gilmore Girls. And Breaking Bad was wicked educational.

Leave a Reply

